Seeking to Renounce My Heterosexual Privilege in the United Methodist Church

The Book of Fellows

In light of the decision that the United Methodist Church’s Judicial Council made today–and especially considering the unjust rules in the Book of Discipline that the decision was based upon–I have decided to share the following document, which has been added to my Candidacy file:

Seeking to Renounce My Heterosexual Privilege As A Certified Candidate For Ordained Ministry in the United Methodist Church

April 27, 2017

I believe that God has called me to social justice ministry. If I really love my neighbor, how could I accept or ignore the systems and institutions that harm and oppress her?

I often find myself thinking/talking about my privilege, noting that I benefit because I have white skin, I was born in the US, I speak English as a first language, I am a Christian in a “Christian” nation, I never had to “come out” as straight or cisgender, etc. I recognize…

View original post 375 more words

Leave a Reply

