Advent

DSC_0008
Spending time with the lemurs at Jungle Island

I’m not sure where the past few weeks have gone. I’m also not sure why Advent, a time of hopeful expectation and waiting, always ends up being so hectic. Anyways, here are a few of the highlights:

  • #GivingTuesday happened! Thank you to everyone who made a contribution to young adult missions through my Advance #! From what I can tell, each of your donations came in on time to be matched by Global Ministries! As promised, I matched donations up to $100.
  • I went to Jungle Island and got to play with lemurs and pet red kangaroos. Special thank you to Cyber Monday for making that happen! Lemurs are very curious and cuddly, and it was awesome to spend some time with them! They are also critically endangered, which is very sad. We have got to take care of our planet!
  • I also went on an air boat ride through the Everglades. We saw several alligators in their natural habitat, which was pretty cool!

IMG_1869

  • On the way home from the Everglades, I drove next to a field of sun flowers. They were so beautiful, I felt compelled to stop, walk right up to the “No Trespassing” sign, and take a few pictures. Sadly, I also managed to step on a nest of fire ants. I’ve been told the bites will go away in a couple of weeks.

South Florida JFON

  • We have been to immigration court on behalf of/with 4 different clients and to family court with 1 client. Roland and I went to family court today with a 14-year-old unaccompanied minor. His uncle was named his temporary custodian, which will allow us to begin the process of applying for a Special Immigrant Juvenile Visa and ultimately a green card for the child.
  • We held our December clinic and met with clients from Haiti, Venezuela, Guatemala, and Honduras.
  • We had a staff retreat at John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park! Janet asked Caitlin and me to invite Drew and Sarah, and we all went snorkeling together. We even saw Jesus 🙂

IMG_0011

  • On the way back, we passed a makeshift raft that apparently carried Cuban immigrants to the United States.

IMG_1824

  • We have been searching for an RV, tow-able camper/trailer, or van for a new mobile immigration legal services unit. We won the $10,000 Innovation Grant from National Justice for Our Neighbors, so that we could provide advice, counsel, referrals, education, and advocacy on the road! If you have any leads, please e-mail me at emily@FLjfon.org!
  • We finally received Sabino’s green card in the mail, and we had the incredible pleasure of presenting it to him at Redland Community UMC last Sunday!
  • Caitlin and I had the chance to stop and watch the incredible, difficult work that farmworkers do in Homestead. I am so thankful for all of the people and hands that make it possible for us to eat nutritious meals.

Farmworkers

Thank you for following my journey and for your continued support!

 

Leave a Reply

