The Thanksgiving Blog Post

Thanksgiving
Redland Community United Methodist Church display on Thanksgiving Sunday. Many of these fruits and vegetables were grown by church members or on other groves in the area.

Today’s blog is all about Thanksgiving. I’m even writing this while eating a piece of sweet potato pie.

Last week when someone asked me what my plans for Thanksgiving were, I was confused. Why were they asking about Thanksgiving already? It’s still warm and sunny, and we’re surrounded by palm trees and tropical flowers.

But then I remembered that I live south of Miami. For your reference, here is a photo that I took while leaving work last week:

Palms

I knew Thanksgiving would be a little different this year, not only because of the warm weather, but also because it was the first Thanksgiving that I’ve spent away from my family. But, just like in the rest of life, if we can’t have things exactly the way we want them to be, we can still make sure that what is attainable is awesome.

I kicked off Thanksgiving at 4:30 AM. Sarah and I drove to Branches UMC in Florida City, FL to heat up the 20 pans of stuffing (240 boxes) that Redland Community UMC made on Wednesday.

Branches

Then we delivered 17 pans to Cornerstone UMC in Cutler Bay, FL, where ~1,000 meals were packed for delivery throughout the area. Pretty cool, right?

Perrine

 

I delivered 10 meals to 4 different homes, which included a standoff with a stray dog who clearly had mange and refused to get out of the middle of the road. (I did feed him some of my peanut butter granola bar though because I’m a total sucker and dogs need love, too.)

After delivering the meals in Homestead, FL, I returned to Cornerstone UMC, helped mop the floor, and then headed back to Branches UMC to eat. The food was good, and I enjoyed spending time with those in the community who came out to celebrate.

(SIDE NOTE: I had to stop myself from writing “those in need” in the community. What I should have written was “those suffering from systemic economic oppression in a capitalist system that prevents them from affording a nutritious meal.”)

Before Sarah and I left, we were asked to buy two gallons of milk and butter, so the volunteers could keep those instant mashed potatoes coming. We walked to a small Mexican corner store and checked out in Spanish.

Once I got home and took a nap, I started cooking. It was my night to cook, and I wanted to make another Thanksgivingish meal. I made my mom’s green bean casserole and sweet potato casserole, as well as Parmesan chicken. The food turned out, but I did have one small casualty when I slipped while chopping a sweet potato and cut my finger pretty badly. Fortunately, Drew is a former nurse, and he cleaned the cut with alcohol before super-gluing my finger hole shut. And that is how I got free liquid stitches on Thanksgiving.

Yesterday evening was our real Thanksgiving meal. I invited a friend from church, Harriet, and Drew invited Steve, a friend from the homelessness ministry where he works. We also invited the Presbyterian DOOR young adult volunteers. We had turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, gravy, sweet potato casserole, green bean casserole, rolls, cranberry sauce, corn, sweet potato pie, pumpkin pie, and the cookies we made from ingredients that my mom sent in a care package.

Friendsgiving
Thanksgiving dinner at our house

It was a really great time, and I have much to be thankful for. If you are reading this, I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving, too!

Shameless plug: 

Are you planning to donate to young adult missions through my Advance number?

If you give on Giving Tuesday, December 1, 2015, your gift will be matched up to $2,500 by the General Board of Global Ministries.

Full information here: On December 1, 2015, Global Ministries will allocate matching funds dollar for dollar up to the first $1 million in gifts to Advance projects received online on Dec. 1, 2015, between 12:00 a.m. and 11:59 p.m. CT. A maximum of $2,500 per individual gift to a project will be dispersed as matching funds. A project may receive a maximum of $25,000 in matching funds.

 

 

Leave a Reply

